Wed Jun 07 2017 8:00 pm
Dave Specter
Jimmy Johnson

Join us for a special Blues Fest edition of Dave Specter's Adventures in Guitar series featuring Chicago bluesman extraordinaire, Jimmy Johnson.

Jimmy Johnson has been a fixture on the Chicago blues scene for over 50 years and his combination of soulful vocals and stinging guitar has been thrilling audiences worldwide with recent tours in Europe and South America. He was inducted into the Blues Hall of Fame in 2016.

Born in Holly Springs, Mississippi in 1928, Jimmy moved to Chicago in 1950 where he worked as a welder and played guitar in his spare time. He soon started playing professionally with artists like Freddy King, Magic Sam, Otis Rush and Jimmy Dawkins. 

His recording career started in the 1970s with classic albums on Delmark and Alligator Records and Jimmy later recorded on Ruf and Verve Records with his brother, the great R&B artist Syl Johnson.

"A striking, original artist" - The Village Voice
"Twisting, unpredictable guitar style and a soaring, soul-dripping vocal delivery." - All Music Guide

Dave Specter first met Jimmy Johnson in the mid-1980s and they've been playing together ever since.
They've recently headlined The Lucerne Blues Festival in Switzerland, The Chicago Blues Festival and appeared together at the 2010 New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival.

Jimmy's a featured guest on Dave's 2008 "Live in Chicago" CD/DVD on Delmark Records and they also appear together on the BMA Award Winning DVD "It Ain't Over", documenting Delmark Records 55th Anniversary.

Dave has been a fixture on the Chicago blues scene for the past 3 decades and has appeared on over 35 albums as a recording artist and producer.

"One of the few top-tier guitarists" - Downbeat
"A global ambassador of Chicago blues" - Chicago SunTimes

Dave Specter's Adventures in Guitar series, which has been running at SPACE for the past eight years, has featured some of the finest talents in blues and jazz including Lurrie Bell, John Primer, Steve Freund, Jeff Parker, Donald Kinsey, Tad Robinson, Bobby Broom, Guy King, Nick Moss, Rick Holmstrom, Eddie Shaw and Joel Paterson.